Please Be Gentle

Please be gentle with me, for I am grieving
The sea I swim in is a lonely one, and the
shore seems miles away.
Waves of despair numb my soul as I
struggle through each day.

My heart is heavy with sorrow. I want to
shout and scream and repeatedly ask
“Why?” At times, my grief overwhelms
me, and I weep bitterly, so great is my loss.

Please don’t turn away or tell me to move
on with my life. I must embrace my pain
before I can begin to heal.
Companion me through my tears and sit
with me in loving silence. Honor where I am in my journey,
not where you think I should be.

Listen patiently to my story, I may need to
tell it over and over again. It’s how I begin
to grasp the enormity of my loss. Nurture
me through the weeks and months ahead.
Forgive me when I seem distant and
inconsolable. A small flame still burns
within my heart, and shared memories may
trigger both laughter and tears. I need
your support and understanding.
There is no right or wrong way to grieve
I must find my own path.

Please will you walk beside me?

Leave a Reply

